Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Kirsty takes Dialysis Petition to Welsh Government

2009 Medi 30 3:52 PM

As the campaign to secure a Kidney Dialysis Unit in Llandrindod Wells mounts, Kirsty Williams AM for Brecon and Radnorshire is taking a petition of over 700 signatures to the Welsh Government. In Questions to the Health Minister Kirsty highlighted the petition and pressed the Minster for an announcement on the location of th Dialysis unit.

The Minister confirmed that an announcement was imminent but had not yet been made. Kirsty Williams said: "It is universally accepted that access to renal dialysis treatment in Powys is totally inadequate. Too many of my constituents in Brecon and Radnor are having to travel unacceptably long distances for treatment.

"I and the 700 strong petition are calling on the Health Minister to site the dialysis unit centrally in Llandrindod Wells Hospital as it would provide fair access for all residents along with helping to secure the future of this important community hospital. "I hope that this petition will be taken on board by the Minister and her advisors and that the announcement will be made as soon as possible after the Renal Network's meeting on the 14th October." Notes - In her response to Kirsty Williams AM the Minister announced that the Renal Advisory Group and Renal Networks, who are currently undertaking an "option appraisal" to consider various locations for the unit, are due to meet on the 14th October. Following which the Minister will make a decision. Over 730 people have signed up to Kirsty's petition. - The petition reads: "We the undersigned welcome the recognition by the Welsh Government that the current provision for Kidney Dialysis treatment for patients in Powys is unacceptable. That Powys has been identified as a top priority for a new Kidney Dialysis Unit. That we support the sitting of the Unit at Llandrindod Wells Hospital as this location provides fair access for all Brecon and Radnorshire residents.